Sentinel is an imprint of Penguin Random House, the world’s largest trade book publisher. Founded in 2003, we are an established publisher of critically acclaimed and bestselling nonfiction. Our mission is to provide a home for independent-minded thinkers and storytellers who challenge mainstream opinion, whether by looking to the past or reimagining the future.

Meet Sentinel

Bria Sandford

Editorial Director

Bria Sandford joined Sentinel in 2012. Fascinated by shifting political coalitions, she is drawn to counterintuitive takedowns of conventional wisdom. She enjoys editing a wide range of idea-driven nonfiction, with a focus on history, sociology, economics, and good old-fashioned polemic. Her bestselling and critically acclaimed authors include Brian Kilmeade, Rod Dreher, Reihan Salam, and Senator Mike Lee. She tweets at @blsandford.

Helen Healey

Associate Editor

Helen Healey joined Sentinel in 2017. She aims to discover voices who no longer fit traditional political categories, and want to redefine them altogether. She enjoys editing a broad range of perspectives on subjects like racial justice, economic justice, and Christianity. Recently, she’s edited Dave Rubin’s New York Times bestseller Don’t Burn This Book and Allie Beth Stuckey’s You’re Not Enough (And That’s Ok). Her growing list of authors includes public intellectuals like Bret Weinstein, Heather Heying, and Coleman Hughes, whose books will appear in 2021 and 2022.

Adrian Zackheim

Adrian Zackheim

Founder, President, and Publisher

Adrian Zackheim joined Penguin Group in September 2001 as Publisher of Portfolio. He then took on the additional challenge of starting Sentinel in April 2003. Previously, he was the Associate Publisher and Editor-in-Chief of HarperInformation, a division of HarperCollins that included HarperBusiness. His editorial career has also included positions at William Morrow, Doubleday, and St. Martin’s Press.

Among the many bestselling books he edited and published before joining Penguin Group were Good to Great by Jim Collins; Die Broke by Stephen Pollan and Mark Levine; The Dilbert Principle by Scott Adams; The HP Way by David Packard; and Swim with the Sharks without being Eaten Alive by Harvey Mackay. He has also published many prominent conservatives, including Newt Gingrich, Ross Perot, Bob Dole, Margaret Thatcher, Donald Rumsfeld, Ben Carson, and Marco Rubio.